Maiden elections to Mymensingh city held

The maiden elections to the Mymensingh City Corporation ended peacefully on Sunday. The elections were held to decide only

councilors of the city corporation as the lone mayoral candidate was elected unopposed.

The balloting for 33 general councillor posts and 11 reserved seats for women took place from 8:00am to 4:00pm without any break.

The Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) was used at all the 127 polling centers across the city. The EVM system was earlier used in the Cumilla City Corporation (CCC) election.

There are 33 general councillor posts and 11 seats reserved for women in Mymensingh, the 12th city corporation of the country, while 296,938 voters under 33 wards.

The Election Commission (EC) has declared Awami League mayoral candidate Ekramul Haque Titu as elected uncontested in the mayoral post. He was the only candidate after Jatiya Party contestant Jahangir Ahmed withdrew from the mayoral race.

Read Bangladesh Post City related news.