Sports, Cricket

Mahmudullah eyes winning T20I series

Published : 24 Jun 2022 08:20 PM | Updated : 25 Jun 2022 06:11 PM

Bangladesh T20 captain Mahmudullah Riyad was determined to win the upcoming three-match T20 series against West Indies.

The remaining members of the limited over format including captain Mahmudullah, Munim Shahriar, Afif Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, and Mohammad Naim departed for West Indies on June 24. 

"Bangladesh's goal is to win the series. Inshallah, we will try to play good cricket. Our team balance is very good. It will be a good series," said Mahmudullah.

"They are a very good team in ODIs and T20s. We have to play good cricket. Playing in their condition will be a challenge. But the last time when we toured we won the series by playing good cricket, hopefully, we will try to win the series again," he said.

Yasir Ali Rabbi has been ruled out of the West Indies series due to a back injury. Mehidy Hasan Miraj has been included in the T20 squad as his replacement.

Mahmudullah said he was delighted with the return of Miraj to the T20 side after four years.

" I think Miraj deserves to be in the squad. He is performing very well. He also did well in BPL. I am very happy that he was included in the squad," T20I skipper Mahmudullah Riyad said at the airport on Friday before leaving for West Indies. The second and final Test of the series started on Friday (June 24) at the Darren Sammy Stadium in St. Lucia. Meanwhile, Bangladesh Test skipper Shakib Al Hasan said the first two hours will be crucial when they face West Indies in the second and series-deciding Test.

"We can start by focusing on the first two hours of the game tomorrow. Whatever we do in that period, be it batting or bowling, we need to do well. After that we can play according to the way the situation demands. But first, we need to try and start well in the first two hours of the game," added Shakib. 

Following the Test series, the two teams will play the three-match T20 series on July 2, 3 and 7. The three-match ODI series is scheduled to begin on July 10. The remaining two matches of the series will be played on July 13 and 16

Related Topics