National, Back Page

Liberal Islamic Jote announces candidates for 121 seats

Published : 28 Nov 2023 10:51 PM | Updated : 28 Nov 2023 10:51 PM

Liberal Islamic Jote, an alliance of six political party led by newly registered Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP), has announced names of candidates in 121 constituencies to contest in the 12th JatiyaSangsad (JS) polls slated for January 7, 2024.

Chairman of BSP and the Jote Syed Saifuddin Ahmed Maizbhandari on Tuesday announced the names of 121 candidates at a press conference at Jatiya Press Club here and said that they will contest in 200 parliamentary constituencies.The Jote will disclose names of candidates for the remaining 79 seats by today (Wednesday), he said.

Syed Saifuddin Ahmed, also incumbent leader of the spiritual hub of MaizbhandarDarbar, has been nominated for contesting in Dhaka-14 and Chattogram-2 constituencies in this parliamentary election.

He said that they are participating in the elections to continue the democratic trend in the country and hoped that incumbent Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KaziHabibulAwal and the government would carry out the duties entrusted to them impartially.Syed Saifuddin Ahmed urged BNP to take part in the polls keeping trust in the Election Commission by shunning the path of hartal, blockades and violence.

The alliance chairman said the elections will be considered as participatory ones even if BNP does not participate.

Other political parties under the alliance are Islamic OikyaJote, Aashiqeen-e- AwliaParishad, Bangladesh Jana Dal (BJD), National Awami Party (NAP-Bhasani) and KrishakSramik Party.

The election symbol of the Liberal Islamic Jote is 'Ektara (monochord)'.