Sports, Cricket

Kyle Mayers’ all round performance steers Fortune Barishal win

Published : 17 Feb 2024 09:43 PM

Riding on an all-round performance from Kyle Mayers Fortune Barishal defeated Sylhet Strikers by 18 runs to remain strongly in t contest to advance to the Playoff phase in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) cricket.

Fortune Barishal elected to bat first after winning the toss and after an initial setback, one down batter Kyle Mayers and Mushfiqur Rahim at the middle played two significant innings to set a challenging target of 184 to chase for Khulna Tigers.

After twinning the sixth match out of 10, Barishal accumulated 12 points to remain on third position and strongly on race to play in the knockout phase. But after losing the match Sylhet Strikers almost out of the race to move forward as they managed only three wins and suffered seven defeats in their 10 outings.    

Fortune Barisal were not comfortable at the early stage of the innings when they lost the openers Ahmed Shehzad and Tmaim Iqbal o team’s total 42 runs and were reduced to three for 65 after playing almost half of the innings 8.1 overs.

Kyle Mayers accompanied by the veteran national batter Mushfiqur Rahim played an outstanding innings at fourth wicket partnership when they scored 84 runs from 48 deliveries to bring Barishal to 149 from 65 runs.

Kyle Mayers, the West Indian batting all rounder scored 48 off 31 balls with plundering three boundaries and as many sixes when Mushfiqur Rahim also hit as many fours and sixes in his quick fire 52 off 32 balls. Besides Kyle Mayers and Mushfique, among the other notable scorers were Tamim Iqbal 19 off 18 balls, Ahmed Shehzad 17 off 11 balls and at the later orders Mahmudullah Riyad (12 off 12) and Mehidy Miraz 15 off seven balls.

Replying to challenging target, Sylhet Strikers saw a big blow losing two wickets in the first over of the innings with no run on the board with Kyle Mayers sending back opener Harry Tector and one down Nazmul Hossain Shanto in his second and fifth ball of first over.

Sylhet tumbled to four for 33 losing two further two wickets in quick successions when Mayers struck again to take the wicket of the captain Mohammed Mithun following Zakir Khan’s run out. 

Mithun, who was going to be danger with playing big shots at the beginning of his innings, Mayers just halt him (Mithun) for only 10 runs. Mithun was caught by Khaled Ahmed after hitting one six and one four to score 10 runs off six balls as Mayers made him his third victim, as Sylhet were reduced to 33 for four. 

Then Angelo Perera of Sri Lanka and Zimbabwean Ryan Burl could not stay on the crease for a long when Moharaj and Mehidy Miraz sent them back in a span of five runs and Sylhet stumbled to 40 for six.

But Benny Howell and Ariful Haque made every efforts to do something a miracle with scoring 144 runs from 11.2 overs to reach the target.

But the innovatory innings of Howell and Arif was halt when the former was run out for 53 off 32 balls and the latter was caught and bowled by McCoy for 57 off 31 balls when they scored 52 balls in the seventh wicket stand.  

Howell, in his 53 off 32 balls inning hit five boundaries and two over boundaries. When Ariful smacked five fours and four sixes to score 57 off 31 balls.

But all their attempt came in vain when they got out in a span of 13 runs, and the Sylhet innings ended on 165 runs and Barishal finally won the match by 18 runs.