Sports, Football

Kings make winning start in the Fed Cup

Published : 26 Dec 2023 09:33 PM

Riding on a Dorielton’s early strike, title aspirants Bashundhara Kings had a hard fought solitary goal win in their opening match of the Bashundhara Federation Cup football on Tuesday. 

Held at the Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj, Kings’ Brazilian forward Dorielton Gomes, who savaged the team scoring the match-winning goal in the BPL and Independence Cup, slammed home the day’s winner in the 11th minute.  

In the day’s other match between Bangladesh Police FC and Rahmatganj MFS was ended in a 2-2 draw at the Bir Shreshtha Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj. 

Forward Shahed Miah opened the scoring for the Police FC in the 19th minute (1-0), while Ghanaian forward Samuel Konney levelled the margin for Rahmayganj MFS in the 41st minute (1-1).

Colombian striker Edis Horacio restore the lead for Police FC in the 68th minute from a penalty (2-1).

Another Ghanian booter of Rahmatganj, Ernest Boateng, again equalised the margin converting apenalty for the Old Dhaka outfit, Rahmatganj MFS, in the 77th minute (2-2). Rahmatganj MFS, who forced the former champions of the Bangladesh Premier League Football  Dhaka Abahani Limited to play a 1-1 draw in their opening match last Friday, also snatched point after a goa down against police FC.

The next matches of the Federation Cup will be held about three weeks later on January 16.

Holders Dhaka Mohammedan SC will play Chittagong Abahani Ltd at the Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj, while runners-up Dhaka Abahani Ltd will also face Brothers Union Club at the Bashundhara Kings Arena here in Group B matches on the day.

Meanwhile, all ten Premier League football teams, splitting into three groups are taking part in the first phase of the Federation Cup Football.   

The Federation Cup matches scheduled for every Tuesday of the week in the country’s three different venues — Bashundhara Kings Arena, Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni in Gopalganj, and Bir Shreshtha Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj when the BPL matches are scheduled for every Friday and Saturday.