Sports, Cricket

Khulna Tigers continue winning streak

Published : 26 Jan 2024 09:43 PM | Updated : 27 Jan 2024 10:53 AM

Dasun Shanka demonstrated an all-round performances, as Khulna Tigers grabbed their third successive win in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) cricket defeating Rangpur Riders by 28 runs. 

Held at the Sylhet Stadium, Dasun Shanaka scored 40 runs when Khulna were in deep trouble and then took four wickets to play the significant role of Khulna’s winning.

Khulna Tigers, after being sent to bat first saw an early setback losing first wicket only for two runs and reduced to 50 for three when captain Anamul Haque was the first batter to leave the crease with the scorecard reading only two runs. Right hand off break bowler Mahedi Hassan struck first.

Apart from the West Indian opener Evin Lewis, the top four batters fell for single-digit scores, as Khulna Tigers saw some trouble with losing four wickets for 64 runs by 9.4 overs.

Lewis, who was trying single handedly to carry on the responsibility to rescue the team got our after scoring 37 runs from 25 balls. 

The West Indian Left hander Lewis in his tiny but quick 37 runs innings hit three boundaries and as many sixes before being the first victim of Hassan Mahmud with teams’ score 64 when opener Anamul went for a duck, Mahmudul Hassan Joy for seven and Afif Hossian left after scoring only four runs. 

Then Dasun Shanaka at fifth wickets stand with Mohammad Nawaz played the most significant inning of 77 runs from 57 deliveries.

Dasun scored 40 runs off 33 balls with five fours and a six, when Mohammad Nawaz was the highest scorer with 55 runs. 

Nawaz, the Pakistani all-rounder, who batted with T20 flavour, in his 34 balls smacked five boundaries and three over boundaries, as Khulna set Rangpur a challenging total of 160 runs for six wickets.  

In reply, Rangpur Riders' chase never took off, as they could barely make any progress as the Tigers’ bowlers struck regularly from the early stage and also kept them from scoring runs. 

As after being fell into deep trouble from the initial stage losing first wicket only for six runs and reduced to three for 39 runs after playing almost half of their innings (9.2 overs). 

Riders lost seven wickets for 80 runs by 14.2 overs. A rebuild was attempted by Shamim Hossain and Mohammad Nabi, who scored 30 and 50 runs respectively but Mohammad Wasim ended that in the  18.4 overs, as Rangpur Riders' innings came to an end for 132 runs.

Related Topics