Kanaighat Press Club gets new committee

Published : 07 May 2023 08:45 PM

The biennial election of Kanaighat Press Club for two-year executive committee (2023-2025) was held at the office of the press club at Kanaighat upazila in Sylhet on Saturday (May 6).  

Nizam Uddin, Kanaighat Correspondent at Dainik Uttorpurbo and Dainik Jayjaydin; and Mahbubur Rashid, Kanaighat Corres­pondent at Daily Sylhet Mirror and founding editor of; have been elected as president and general secretary of the press club respectively.

The three-member election commission declared the results after the election which was held amid a festive and peaceful manner. The members of the election commission are- Mizanur Rahman Sohel, founding general secretary of the Kanaighat Press Club; Advocate Mamun Rashid, life member of the press club; and Master Md Mohi Uddin, president of Kanaighat Upazila Anti-Corruption Committee. 

Before the election, a meeting of the Kanaighat Press Club was held with Shahjahan Selim Bulbul, outgoing president of the press club; in the chair. MA Hannan, founding president of the press club and executive editor of Sylhet Bani; attended the meeting and supervised the election process. 

Other members of the newly elected committee are- vice presidents Abdun Noor of Daily Bhorer Kagoj and Shahin Ahmed of Daily Jalalabad; assistant secretary Mumin Rashid of Daily Jugobheri; treasurer Aminul Islam of Daily Sabuj Sylhet; office secretary Sujon Chandra Anup of Daily Amader Somoy; literature and publication secretary Asad Ahmed of Daily Bijoyer Kantha; sports and cultural affairs secretary Mahfuz Siddique of Daily Bhorer Somoy and ICT and library secretary Joy Abedin Azad of Daily Sylheter Dinkal.