JUTA polls today

The election of Jahangirnagar University Teachers’ Association (JUTA) will be held on Monday. Election Commissioner Prof AKM Abul Kalam said that the election will begin from 9 am and will continue till 1 pm on that day at the Teachers’ Club of the university. Meanwhile, the commission announced the final candidate’s list for the upcoming polls.

Prof Dr.A A Mamun and  Prof Sohel Rana will contest for the president post while Prof Dr.Alomgir Kabir   and Prof Amzad Hossain will contest for the general secretary post. Besides, Prof Dr.Soyed Hafizur Rahman  and Prof M Hasibur Rahman will contest for the vice-president post, Assistant Professor Dr. Risala Tasin Khan and Associate Professor Borhan Uddin  will contest for joint secretary post and Professor  Motahar Hossain and Professor Sayed Ferdous will contest for treasurer post. A total of 15 teachers from each teachers group of JU Bangabandhur Shikkhak Parishad and Sammilita Shikkhak Samaj will contest for ten executive member posts respectively. 

A faction of Awami League teachers’ group, BNP, and left-leading teachers’ alliance under the banner of Sammilita Shikkak Samaj against VC backed Pro Awami League teachers group under the banner of Bangabandhur  Shikkhak Parishad are taking part in the upcoming election.