JUPC gets new executive body

Published : 24 Jan 2021 09:24 PM | Updated : 25 Jan 2021 01:21 AM

Hasan Tanvir of the Bonik Barta and Khalilur Rahman of NTV online were elected as president and general secretary respectively of Jahangirnagar University Press Club (JUPC).

The election was held through online on Sunday from 11 a.m to 1.00 p.m. 

Prof Dr. Mohammad Alamgir Kabir,  director of JU Teacher-Student Centre (TSC) conducted the election 

as the chief election commissioner while Dr. Awlad Hossain,  associate professor of Chemistry department and Dr. Tajuddin Sikder, associate professor of Public Health and Informatics department were the assistant election commissioners. 

After the election, chief election commissioner  Prof Kabir announced the result at JUPC office of Teacher-Student office at 2.00 p.m. 

The other office bearers are Emon Mahmud of Daily Janakantha as vice-president,  Nur Hasan Nayem of Daily Bhorer Kagaj as joint secretary,  Shihab Uddin of as treasurer,  Hasib Sohel of Bangladesh Post as office secretary,  Rudro Musaddek of Daily Amar Sangbad as publicity and publication secretary. 

The four elected executive members are Arif Shakil of Delta Times and Ruman of Update Barta, Faizar Mohammad Shaolin of Student Journal, Jakir Hossain Jibon of Daily Somoyer Alo.

The executive body will hold their post for the next year.