JUJA new executive body accorded reception

The newly elected Executive Committee of Jahangirnagar University Journalist Association (JUJA) was accorded reception at the seminar room of JU Zahir Raihan auditorium here on Monday, reports BSS. 

Md Asaduz Zaman (The Daily Star) and Md Mahbub Alam (Daily Inqilab) took over the charges as President and General Secretary of the committee respectively. JU Vice-Chancellor (VC) Professor Farzana Islam addressed the function as the chief guest while President of Jatiya Press Club and Editor of the Daily Jugantor Saiful Alam attended as main speaker. 

Chaired by outgoing JUJA president Plabon Tarique, JU Pro-Vice Chancellor (Admin) Prof Amir Hossain, Pro-VC (Education) Prof Dr Md Nurul Alam, Senior Producer of BBC World Service Masud Hasan Khan, President of JUJA Alumni Association Sayed Shahidul Huq Manju and JUJA advisor Prof Dr Sohel Ahmed were present as special guests, among others.

Prof Farzana Islam said,” Journalism is a challenging profession …false, baseless and unfounded news spoil the image of a person or an institution. So, journalists have to responsible and more careful in reporting.” Meanwhile, eight journalists of the university were awarded crest, certificate and money for their outstanding performance in reporting. 

Among them, Md Asaduz Zaman and Plabon Tarique (The Independent) won first and second prize respectively while Shariful Islam Simanto (Bangladesh Pratidin) and Rahul M Yousof (The Daily Jugantor) jointly won the third prize.

The chief guest distributed the prize money, crests and certificates among the awarded journalists. Jahangirnagar University Teachers Association (JUTA) President Prof A A Mamun, Acting Registrar Rahima Kaneez, teachers of different departments, representatives of different teachers’ organisations of the university, leaders of different political, socio-cultural organisations including general students from different departments and institutes attended the programme. Earlier, a nine-member JUJA executive body was formed on January 23 for 2020 session.