Jaintiapur Press Club election held: Imran, others congratulate new committee

Members of Jaintiapur Press Club have elected the executive committee for the next two years. The election took place on Sunday evening.

Sahed Ahmed has been re-elected as president of Jaintiapur Press Club, defeating his rival Nurul Islam in the biennial election.

Life member of the press club Ilias Uddin Lipu announced the results after the voting.

According to the election results, Gulam Sorwar Belal of Daily Jalalabad has been elected as general secretary of the new committee.

The other office bearers of the committee are senior vice-president Foyez Ahmed of Daily Khobor, vice-president Abdul Halim, joint general secretary SM Razu, finance secretary Meer Md Shoyeb Ahmed of Daily Sabuj Sylhet, publicity and publication secretary Shahjahan Kabir Khan and executive members Nurul Islam of Sylheter Dak and Abul Hossain Md Hanif of Daily Ittefaq.

Earlier, Sahed Ahmed presided over the biannual general meeting at hall room of the press club, while general secretary of the outgoing committee Nurul Islam presented annual report.

Meanwhile, Expatriates Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Imran Ahmed has congratulated the new committee. He said that the activities of Jaintiapur Press Club would be intensified further under the leadership of Sahed Ahmed.

Upazila chairman Kamal Ahmed, former upazila chairman Jainal Abedin, UNO of Jaintiapur Maureen Karim and others also congratulated the new committee.