Irregularity in upazila polls won’t be accepted: EC

Published : 24 Apr 2024 09:58 PM

Election Commissioner Md. Anisur Rahman said that any kind of irregularity will not be accepted in the upcoming Upazila Parishad (UP) election. The election will be held through EVM in each upazila of 9 districts. The election in the rest of the districts will be held through ballot paper.

The Election Commissioner (EC) came up with the assertion while speaking as the chief guest at the views-exchange meeting with Chattogram, Cox's Bazar, Rangamati, Bandarban and Khagrachari districts’ Returning Officers, Assistant Returning Officers, members of law enforcement agencies and election-related persons at PTI Auditorium in Chattogram on Wednesday.

Anisur Rahman said preparations have been made to complete the election in four parts for proper management and efficiency of this election.  

On May 8, the first phase of elections will be held in 150 upazilas.  Elections in remaining districts are scheduled on May 21, May 29 and June 5.  However, the election has been postponed in three upazilas of Bandarban district.  In remote, hilly and island areas with the help of local administration, election equipment will be delivered the day before polling and in the rest of the districts, ballot paper will be delivered before 8 am on the polling day and polling will end at 4 pm.

He also said that if there will be any incident of vote rigging or irregularity in any centre, the presiding officer in-charge of that center can immediately stop the voting.  Officials can take any action in favour of the law for free, fair and impartial elections.  Law enforces will always be by your side to ensure safety, he added.

Divisional Commissioner of Chattogram Md. Tofail Islam presided over the meeting. CMP Commissioner Krishna Pada Roy, DIG Nure Alam Meena, Region Commander, BGB Md Azizur Rahman, DGFI Branch Commander General Tofail Mustafa Sarwar, Ansar and VDP Deputy Director Md Saifullah Russell, Deputy Commissioner Abul Basar Mohammad Fakhruzzaman, Superintendent of Police SM Shafiullah, returning officers concerned, Assistant Returning Officers along with Regional Election Officer Md Yiunus Ali and other officials of the district were present in the meeting.