Independence Day observed in Mirzaganj

Published : 27 Mar 2023 09:53 PM

The Great Independence Day was observed by the upazila administration in Mirzaganj of Patuakhali district.

On this occasion, the Upazila Parishad and administration laid wreaths at the Upazila Freedom Fighters Memorial in the early hours of Sunday. After that upazila Awami League, Mirzaganj Thana Police, Chhatra League, Jubo League, Sramik League, BNP, Jatiya Party, various social, journalistic and professional organizations along with various educational institutions of the upazila presented wreaths at the memorial.

Later, Independence Day was inaugurated by hoisting the national flag at the Upazila Parishad square and flying colorful balloons and doves as symbols of peace. Upazila Parishad Chairman Khan Abu Bakar Siddiqui inaugurated the event as the chief guest under the chairmanship of Upazila Executive Officer Saifur Rahman.

Upazila Awami League Secretary for Religious Affairs Jasim Uddin Sabuj Mridha was present as special guest in the event. Upazila Awami League President Gazi Atahar Uddin Ahmed, General Secretary Jasim Uddin Jewel Bepari, Vice President Ismail Hossain Mridha, Barek Sikdar, Women Vice Chairman Hasina Begum, Agriculture Officer Arafat Hossain, Police Officer-in-Charge Anwar Hossain and many others. Also, dignitaries including leaders of various political, social and journalistic organizations were present.

Students from various educational institutions participated in the parade, including members of police 

station police, Ansar, fire service and village police.

In addition, the day is celebrated through reception of freedom fighters, discussion meetings, serving high-quality food in hospitals and orphanages, and special prayers in mosques and temples.