Inclusion of extended RMP areas to RCC demanded

Published : 31 Oct 2020 09:26 PM

Speakers at a human chain demanded inclusion of the extended area of Rajshahi Metropolitan Police (RMP) to the Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC) administration in order to ensure utility services. They placed their demands at a human chain at Rajshahi’s Shaheb Bazaar Zero Point on Saturday.

Speakers said the Rajshahi Metropolitan areas have been extended from four thanas to 12 thanas but the extended RMP areas are still under the Upazila administration.

New areas including Kantakhali and Naohata Municipalities see an unplanned urbanisation and industrialisation since these areas are located adjacent to RCC, the said.

Speakers demanded to bring Kantakhali Municipality, Naohata union, Parila union, Harian union, Belpukur union and Baneswar union under the RCC administration. 

They also welcomed the RCC’s initiative to build Rajshahi a megacity and demanded a speedy implementation of the project. Presided over by Chairman of Parila Union Parishad Saiful Bari Bhulu, Yousufpur UP Chairman Shafiul Alam Ratan, Convener of Ghatak Dalal Nirmul Committee of Chandrima Police Station Hafeza Khatun Happy, Abu Sama and Monitruzzaman, among others, spoke at the programme.