Sports, Cricket

ICC announces rule change

Published : 21 Oct 2021 09:37 PM | Updated : 23 Oct 2021 09:18 AM

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced changes in the rules of the T20 World Cup in the middle of the ongoing tournament on Wednesday.

In August, the ICC stated that Bangladesh will be B1 and Sri Lanka will be A1 if they qualify for the super 12.

“If Sri Lanka and Bangladesh qualify from the first round, they will retain the seedings of A1 and B1 respectively for the Super 12s. The top two teams from each group of the Super 12s will make the knockouts, the matchups being – A1 v B2 and B2 v A1,” the ICC Media release said.

However, the ICC reversed the previous decision and announced that teams will not have any seedings.

“On Super 12 qualification – the teams that finish top of the standings in Group A and Group B, will take the position of A1 and B1 in the Super 12s. Therefore A2 and B2 will be taken by the second-place teams in each group respectively. It is not done on Round 1 group seedings,” the ICC media advisory said.

Bangladesh’s net run rate is the lowest among teams that have won at least a match in Group B. So Bangladesh qualifying for the main round as the group runner-up is very much possible.

As a result, they might have to face England, West Indies, South Africa, Australia, and the winners of Group A.

Related Topics