National, Back Page

HC gets 9 more permanent judges

Published : 19 Oct 2021 10:25 PM | Updated : 21 Oct 2021 12:58 PM

Nine new judges have taken the oath of office to the High Court, raising its working strength to 100 permanent judges.

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath at a ceremony at the Judges’ Lounge of the Supreme Court on Tuesday. 

Family members of the newly appointed permanent judges were present at the oath-taking ceremony.

The new HC judges are- Muhammad Mahbub-ul Islam, Shahed Nuruddin, Md Zakir Hossain, Md Akhtaruzzaman, Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Kazi Ebadat Hossain, KM Zahid Sarwar Kajal, AKM Zahirul Haque and Kazi Zinat Haque.

Earlier, President Md Abdul Hamid has permanently appointed the nine additional judges in the High Court Division of the Supreme Court. After the approval of the President, a gazette notification signed by secretary of Law and Justice Division of the Ministry of Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Md Golam Sarwar was issued on Monday.

The gazette notification says that the appointments were made by the President in consultation with the Chief Justice in accordance with the powers conferred by Article 95 of the Constitution.

Their appointment will come into effect from the date of their oath taking, the notification also reads.

Related Topics