National, Back Page

Four HC judges promoted to Appellate Division

Published : 09 Jan 2022 09:54 PM | Updated : 10 Jan 2022 03:06 PM

Four judges of the High Court Division were appointed judges to the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, raising the number of judges in the apex court to eight.

The newly appointed judges are Justice Borhanuddin, Justice M Enayetur Rahim, Justice Krishna Debnath and Justice FRM Nazmul Ahasan.

President M Abdul Hamid made the appointment as per article 95 (1) of the Constitution. The Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Ministry issued a gazette notification in this regard on Sunday after the President appointed them.

In the notification, it was said that the appointment of the judges would come into effect once they take the oath.

However, of the four judges, Justice Borhanuddin, Justice M Enayetur Rahim and Justice Krishna Debnath took the oath on Sunday, while Justice FRM Nazmul Ahasan would take the oath later as he is undergoing treatment in a hospital in the capital.

Chief Justice Hasan Foez Siddique administered the oath to the three judges at the Supreme Court judges’ lounge. Registrar General of Supreme Court Md Ali Akbar moderated the oath taking ceremony. 

There were four judges in the Appellate Division --Hasan Foez Siddique (now Chief Justice), Muhammad Imman Ali, Md. Nuruzzaman and Obaidul Hassan.

Related Topics