NCC polls 2022

Festive atmosphere prevails in city

Published : 10 Dec 2021 10:04 PM | Updated : 11 Dec 2021 01:57 PM

As the days are nearing the Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) election, the city inhabitants as well as both probable mayor and councilor candidates have become enthusiastic with electioneering.

The election commission declared the schedule of Narayanganj City Corporation election with mention of the nomination papers purchase and submit date on December 15 and the day of polling is on January 16, 2022.

Awami League nominated Dr Selina Hayat Ivy who has been in the chair of NCC mayor since 2003.

District election officer Motiur Rahman, also assistant returning officer, said that four mayor aspirants and one hundred twenty one councilor candidates collected nomination papers till Thursday.

In a supporters meeting on December 8 evening at the district unit Awami League office, Ivy addressed, “You bless me as I can hold the ideology of ‘Joy Bangla’ till death.” 

District unit Awami League president Abdul Hai, Narayanganj constituency-2 law maker Nazrul Islam Babu, Tarabo pourashabha mayor Hasina Gazi, district unit senior vice president Abdul Kadir, organizing Secretary Abu Sufian, former public prosecutor Asaduzzaman, Anisur Rahman Dipu and suppor­ters were present there. A total of 517,357 voters including only four transgender will exercise their votes in the 187 vote centers. The councilor candidates for both general and women reserved seats are too advanced to get popularity.

A mayor and the thirty six councilor including nine women reserved will be elected through direct votes.

Among the twenty seven general councilor seats, 9 from Shiddhirganj thana, nine from Nayanganj Sadar thana and the rest nine from Bandar thana area.

Door to door campaign and political equation is in full swing with hope of winning for each candidate.

Related Topics