National, Front Page

Election to 61 Zila Parishads on Oct 17

Published : 23 Aug 2022 10:19 PM

The election to 61 district councils (Zila Parishads) will be held October 17 with the use of electronic voting machines (EVMs).

The Election Commission on Tuesday announced the polls schedules for 61 local bodies out of the country’s 64 district councils(excluding three district councils of Chittagong Hill Tract area) after a meeting held at the Nirbachan Bhaban with Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal in the chair.

As per the schedule, the deadline for submission of nomination paper sis September 15, while the date for scrutinizing nomination papers is September 18 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is September 25, said EC’s additional secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath at a briefing after the meeting.

The polls will be held from 9am to 2pm without any recess.

Deputy Commissioners will act as the election returning officers in the respective districts.

Elected representatives of other local bodies like Union Parishads, municipalities and Upazila Parishads are voters in the district council election.