All Section, City

CoUJA New President Tanvir, Secretary Biplob

Published : 23 Feb 2020 08:56 PM | Updated : 06 Sep 2020 08:46 AM

The annual election to the Comilla University Journalists’ Association (CoUJA) was held on Sunday to form its new executive committee for the next one year. Tanvir Sabik of the Daily Jugantor and Shahadat Biplob of the Daily Desh Rupantar have been elected as president and general secretary of the new body. 

The chief election commissioner Professor Md. Aminul Islam Akanda announced the result at 2.30pm after counting the votes of 30 university correspondents of different online and print media. Election commissioners Kazi Md. Kamal Uddin and Joni Alam and Abu Musa, Cumilla Correspondent of SATV were present among others at the result announcement ceremony. 

The other elected office bearers are vice-president Abu Bakar Rayhan of the Daily Samakal, joint secretary Md. Mehedi Hasan Murad of the Daily Inqilab, treasurer Joynal Abedin of the Daily Manab Zamin, office secretary Khaled Morshed of the Daily Khola Kagoj and Information and Library secretary Forhadur Rahman of the Daily Kaler Kantho. 

The two elected executive members are Md. Mohiuddin Mahi of The New Nation and the New Age and Jannatul Ferdous of the Daily Ittefaq.  Teachers, officials and representatives of different organisations of the university visited the election centre at admin building on campus during the polling.