Committee formed to ensure single digit bank interest rate

Bangladesh Bank (BB) today formed a seven-member committee, led by its Deputy Governor SM Moniruzzaman, to ensure single digit bank interest rate for industrial sector.

“BB Governor Fazle Kabir has formed the committee to ensure single digit lending rate in the industrial sector. The committee will provide necessary suggestion to this end,” BB Executive Director Abu Farah Md Naser told BSS.

Other members of the committee are Agrani Bank Chairman Dr Zaid Bakht, Standard Bank Chairman Kazi Akarm Uddin Ahmed, Rupali Bank Managing Director Md Obayed Ullah Al Masud, IFIC Bank Managing Director Mohammad Shah Alam Sarwar, Association of Bankers, Bangladesh (ABB) Chairman and Mutual Trust Bank Managing Director Syed Mahbubur Rahman and NRB Bank Managing Director Md Mehmood Hussain.