Sports, Cricket, Front Page

Comilla clinch 3rd BBPL title

Published : 18 Feb 2022 10:57 PM | Updated : 19 Feb 2022 01:34 PM

In what turned out to be a thrilling finale, in the last over Barishal needed 10 but they managed to bag 8 runs only. After chasing a challenging total of 151, Shykat Ali’s 34-ball 58 kept Barishal on the driving seat for most of the match. However, resolute bowling in the end by the Victorians clinched them their second BPL title.

For Victorians, spinners Sunil Narine and Tanvir Islam bagged 2 wickets each.

Read More: Giants ready to lock horns for BBPL title

Meanwhile after losing the toss, it was a great comeback by Fortune Barishal who have managed to limit  Comilla Victorians to 151/9, given a thrilling start by Sunil Narine in the powerplay. The West Indian all-rounder got the Victorians off to a flier as they were 36/0 after two overs. However, Shakib Al Hasan came into the attack and struck in his first over to break the opening partnership.

Sunil Narine notched up a quick fifty, however, Comilla lost wickets in a cluster after his dismissal. They were reduced to 95/6 in the 11th over, but Moeen Ali and Abu Hider Rony batted sensibly, kept their cool and had a handy partnership after that hiccup. Shafiqul Islam bowled a superb final over, else Comilla were looking set to touch the 160-run mark.

Related Topics