Sports, Cricket

Chattogram phase begins today

Published : 12 Feb 2024 09:35 PM

The Chattogram phase of the ongoing 10th edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T-20 is set to commence with a match between reigning champions Comilla Victorians and Chattogram Challengers at Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

The BPL had a two-day break after the third phase ended in Dhaka.

A total of 12 matches will be played in Chattogram until February 20. Following this, the BPL action will return to Dhaka. The fifth phase will begin at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur, on February 21.

The Comilla Victorians beat the Chattogram Challengers by seven wickets in the second phase at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on February 2.

Chattogram Challengers were bundled out for just 72 runs from 16.3 overs. Nine batters on the team could not reach double figures in that match.

Comilla Victorians reached the target of 73 for only 9.2 over.

So, Chattogram Challengers should remember that match and have to bounce back. It would be a tough task for them.

Currently, Rangpur Riders lead the points table with six wins in eight matches, securing 12 points. The Comilla Victorians have also amassed 10 points with five wins from seven outings. Durdanto Dhaka are at the bottom of the table, having secured two points from nine matches. 

They lost eight encounters in a row. They are eliminated from the race. They could not qualify for playoff matches.

Left-handed Mohammad Naim of Durdanto Dhaka leads the list of batters with the most runs in this year's BPL, amassing 266 runs from nine matches. Pakistan’s Babar Azam of Rangpur Riders and Towhid Hridoy of Slhet Strikers closely follow with 251 and 250 runs, respectively.

Among the local bowlers, Shoriful Islam and Mahedi Hasan share the top spot as the leading wicket-takers in the ongoing tournament so far, each having 17 and 12 wickets, respectively.