CCC election, Bogura-1, Jashore-6 by-polls on March 29

The polls to the Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) and the by-election of Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 parliamentary constituencies will be held on March 29, reports BSS.

Election Commission’s (EC) Senior Secretary Md Alamgir announced the polls schedule at a press conference held at the Election Commission Secretariat at Agargaon on Sunday afternoon.

“The last date for nomination papers submission is February 27 while the scrutiny of nomination papers on March 1,” he said, adding, “Last date of withdrawing candidacy is March 8 and the polls symbols will be distributed on March 9.”

The EC held the last CC polls on April 28, 2015 and the tenure of the incumbent CCC authority will end on August 5 this year. There is an obligation of holding the polls within the 180 days time-limit.

Besides, the EC secretariat declared the Bogura-1 Constituency vacant on January 18 while Jashore-6 electoral seat vacant on January 21. The polls of Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 will also go through by-polls on March 29.