Sports, Cricket

BPL gets underway with brief opening ceremony

Published : 19 Jan 2024 08:56 PM

The 10th edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) got underway on Friday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur with a pretty average and brief opening ceremony. The Bangladesh Cricket Board president and newly appointed Sports Minister Nazmul Hassan declared the tournament open.

However, there was no colourful opening ceremony and big-name overseas cricketers are yet to arrive. There's not been much hype around the tournament because of lack of promotion but there is a decent turnout so far in the BPL opener. Players of both the teams and the match officials stood on a red carpet and were greeted by Nazmul Hassan. Smoke flare was on display and balloons filled the sky after the inauguration. 

All these happened after the toss and the opening ceremony finished within a mere 10 minutes. However, BPL's opening game between Comilla Victorians and Durdanto Dhaka has pulled in the crowd, with fans queuing up outside the gates while many have already filled the stands and the match on field kicked off in a grand style with fast bowler Shoriful Islam claiming a hat-trick in his side Durdanto Dhaka's match against defending champions  Comilla Victorians.

Shoriful who returned figures of 3-27, took all of his wickets in the last three balls of Comilla's innings. After conceding two sixes at the hands of 

Khushdil Shah in the second and third ball, he took the sweet revenge when he had Comilla's Pakistan recruit caught by Taskin. Later in the last two balls,  he claimed the wicket of West Indies recruit Roston Chase and Mahidul Islam Ankon, helped by the fielders to become the seventh bowler in the tournament  to claim hat-trick. Comilla eventually were restricted to 143-6.

Pakistan's Mohammad Sami was the first bowler in BPL to slam a hat-trick in the first edition in 2012. So far three overseas players and four Bangladeshi players achieved the feat in this tournament. 

The first three hat-tricks were registered in Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur and then the next three were recorded at Zahur Ahmed  Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram before Mirpur saw a hat-trick again thanks to Shoriful.