Sports, Cricket

BPL 2022 to kick off on January 21

Published : 23 Dec 2021 09:46 PM

The Bangladesh Cricket Board said on Wednesday that the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League T20 2022 will start on 21 January.

The six teams are -Dhaka, Chattogram, Cumilla, Barishal, Khulna, Sylhet.

Dhaka, Chattogram and Sylhet will be the host venues for the 36-match six-team event that will be played in double round robin league format followed by three play offs and a final.

The final of the tournament is planned to be held on February 18.

The Player Draft of BPL 2022 will be held at Radisson Blu Water Garden, Dhaka on December 27.

Each team is allowed to include three overseas players in the XI for a match. A team can recruit one local player from any category as a direct signing prior to the Player Draft.

A team will be entitled to register a minimum of ten and a maximum of fourteen local players. Except for the one direct signing, all other local players must be obtained from the Player Draft.

The number of registered Bangladeshi players for each team cannot exceed fourteen at any point during the tournament. The champions will earn BDT 01 Crore while the runners-up will get BDT 50 Lac.

BPL governing council member secretary Ismail Haider Mallick said on Wednesday that they will tell with the respective franchises so that the national team players are compensated if they miss one or two matches as they are likely to be on a break after the tour of New Zealand.

“We will talk with the franchises so that if they miss a couple of matches they will be compensated and I don't think it will be a problem,” he said.

Meanwhile, the BPL governing council also expressed their unwillingness to hold the opening concert before the tournament considering the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

Fee cap for local players

A category (BDT 70 Lac), B category (BDT 35 Lac), C category (BDT 25 Lac), D category (BDT 18 Lac), E category (BDT 12 Lac) and F category (BDT 05 Lac).

Fee cap for foreign players

A category (US$ 75K), B category (US$ 50K), C category (US$ 40K), D category (US$ 30K), E category (US$ 20K).