Politics, Back Page

BNP’s Jahidur Rahman takes oath

Published : 25 Apr 2019 08:17 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 07:02 PM

BNP’s MP-elect Md Jahidur Rahman Jahid from Thakurgaon-3 constituency was sworn-in as a lawmaker on Thursday, reports BSS. Jatiya Sangsad (JS) Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury administered the oath of office to him at a ceremony at Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban, a JS spokesman told the state news agency. Chief Whip Noor-e-Alam Chowdhury, Whip Iqbalur Rahim and Whip Abu Sayeed Al-Mahmud Swapon were present on the occasion.

Senior Secretary of the parliamentary secretariat Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath-taking ceremony. After the ceremony, Jahid also signed the oath-taking book for MPs.
The BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront got eight seats in the December 30 national elections. Of them, BNP secured six seats. In the meantime, the two Gonoforum MPs have already taken oath.