Bill placed in JS

Pirojpur getting science and tech-based public varsity

Published : 18 Nov 2021 10:33 PM

The government has taken initiative to set up another university in the country with the aim for advancing science and technology-based education.

The science and technology-based public university is going to be established in Pirojpur. It has been named after Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The name of the university is ‘Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), Pirojpur’. 

The Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), Pirojpur Bill, 2021 was placed in the Parliament on Thursday (November 18). 

Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni placed the Bill in the House. Later, it was sent to the respective Parliamentary Standing Committee for further security. The committee was asked to submit its report within one month. The President would be the Chancellor of the university.

The proposed university will be a prototype of the existing science and technology universities as the new law has been enacted following the other science and technology universities of the country.

The specialised science and technology university will be established in Pirojpur district town.

Considering the circumstances that there is no specialised university in adjacent districts including Jhalakati, Bagerhat and Barguna, the government has taken the decision to establish the university there.

People of Pirojpur are happy with the initiative of the government. They said that with the establishment of the university, a new history is going to be written in the arena of science and technology in the coastal areas.

  A total of 153 universities are functioning in Bangladesh, of which 46 are public and 107 are private. Besides, there are four more medical universities.