National, Back Page

BCL names presidents, secys of DU halls

Published : 02 Feb 2022 10:03 PM | Updated : 03 Feb 2022 01:10 PM

After two days of hall council, the Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), the ruling Awami League's student wing, announced a partial committee for 18 Dhaka University dorms, naming a president and general secretary.

BCL central president Al Nahean Khan Joy, general secretary Lekhak Bhattacharjee, DU unit president Sonjit Chandra Das, and general secretary Saddam Hussein signed press releases naming the committee.

Newly elected presidents and general secretaries of BCL hall units respectively are:  Mehedi Hasan Shanto and Mahbubur Rahman for Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall, Kajal Das and Atanu Barman for Jagannath Hall, Shahidul Haque Shishir and Muhammad Hossen of Haji Muhammad Muhsin Hall, Mariam Zaman Khan Sohan and Siam Rahman  for Masterda Surya Sen Hall, Kamal Uddin Rana and Rubel Hossain for Shaheed Sergeant Zahurul Haque, Reazul Islam and Munayem Shahriar Moon for Sir AF Rahman Hall, Azharul Islam Mamun and Hasibul Islam Shanto for Muktijoddha Ziaur Rahman Hall, Sajibur Rahman Sajib and Abu Yunus  for Bijoy Ekattar Hall, Sumon Khalifa and Lutfur Rahman for Kabi Jasimuddin Hall,  Tanvir Sikder and Mishat Sarkar for Salimullah Muslim Hall, Anwar Hossain Naeem and Abu Hasib Mukta for Fazlul Haque Muslim Hall, Zahidul Islam and Sharif Ahmed Munim for Shahidullah Hall, Enayet H Manon and Imdadul Hasan Sohag for Amar Ekushey Hall.

The elected leaders of the five women's residential halls of the university are: Kohinoor Akter Rakhi and Sanjina Yasmin for Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Hall, Atika Binte Hossain and Antora Das for Ruqayyah Hall, Khadija Akhtar Urmi and Nusrat Rubaiyat Neela for Shamsunnahar Hall, Razia Sultana Kotha and Jannatul Hawa Akhi for Bangladesh Kuwait-Maitri Hall, Puja Karmakar and Rima Akhter Dolly for Begum Sufia Kamal Hall unit.

The last DU hall council took place on November 26, 2016, and the hall committees were constituted in December of that year. 

Saddam Hossian, BCL DU Unit general secretary, said “After five years, the Dhaka University Chhatra League hall committees have been formed. During this long period, a leadership tangle was created. Many batches have completed their postgraduate studies but have not been able to get organizational recognition. They will be given priority while announcing the full committee."

"The elected presidents and general secretaries of the halls will form a full committee after consulting with the former leaders of the hall and our university committees," added Saddam Hossain.

Related Topics