Sports, Cricket

BCL kicks off on Dec 10

Published : 26 Nov 2021 08:28 PM | Updated : 26 Nov 2021 08:28 PM

The ninth edition of the Bangladesh Cricket League, the franchise based first-class tournament of the country, will get underway on December 10.

The tournament alongside four-day matches will also stage one-day games between the four participating teams.

The tournament with the participation of Walton Central Zone, BCB South Zone, Islami Bank East Zone and BCB North Zone – will first hold the four-day games.

The two teams who finish top in the league phase will play the final.

The teams will then play the one-day competition in similar tournament format and the top two teams will play the final.

The players’ draft for the upcoming season of the tournament was held at the Bangladesh Cricket Board media center Wednesday.

A total of 147 cricketers, including the six retained by each team, were put up for the draft where a total of 67 players got picked by the four teams.

Only Central Zone and East Zone completed their squad of 24.

South Zone in total have 21 cricketers in the dressing room while North Zone bagged 22 players.

The teams have named mainstream national cricketers in Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mustafizur Rahman but it is understood that none will be available due to national commitment and the packed schedule.

North Zone meanwhile picked the veteran Mahmudullah who announced Test retirement Wednesday.

It is understood that Mahmudullah has quit longer version cricket in both international and domestic circuit.