Sports, Cricket

Bangladesh to fly to SA leaving Shakib

Published : 10 Mar 2022 09:11 PM

Bangladesh Cricket team is set to fly for South Africa leaving the veteran all-rounder Shakib Al Hassan to play three One-day and two match Test series to get underway from March 18. 

The ODI and Test series are part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League and the ICC World Test Championship cycles, respectively.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) finally fabricated the both Test and One-day squad omitting Shakib Al Hassan when the One-day squad reduced to 15 men instead of 16 and the Test squad will also be reduced to 17 rather than 18.

It is very much expected that the Test team there would be no change of winning combination of New Zealand tour and there might be a little variation in the One-day squad in South Africa. 

Meanwhile, two youngsters, will go South Africa with the Test squad who will not be the part of the squad, they will go only two have exposure with having opportunity to practice at the Gary Kersten Cricket Academy.

Middle order batter Mohammed Mithun and young pacer Rezaur Rahman Raja will go SA with the Test team. 

As usual Tamim Iqbal will lead the visitors in the three-match ODI series preceding the Tests.

Bangladesh expected to arrive on March 12 and the visitors will not serve a quarantine period and will start their practice after a one-day interval on March 14. 

Bangladesh will begin their tour with first One-day at Supersport Park where the first two ODI off three-match series will be hosted by the Supersport Park followed by Imperial Wanderers staging the third. 

Durban and Gqeberha Cricket Stadium (Port Elizabeth) are the venues for the two Test matches.

ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hassan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Syed Khaled Ahmed

Test squad: Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Shohidul Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shadman Islam, Nurul Hasan.