Bangabandhu Parishad gets new committee at CoU

Published : 05 Jan 2021 10:03 PM

A fraction of Comilla University Bangabandhu Parishad formed a new executive committee for the 2021 session on Tuesday.

Accounting and Information Systems Department’s Associate Professor Mohammad Mizanur Rahman and Economics Department’s Assistant Professor Mohammad Nasir Hussain have been selected as president and general secretary respectively, says a press release signed by the previous committee president Kazi Omar Siddiqui and general secretary Md. Zia Uddin.

Banani Biswas of English Department, Md Shahadat Hossain of Chemistry Department and Jannatul Ferdous of Public Administration Department were selected as vice presidents while Muhammad Rezaul Islam of Bangla Department and Md. Nahidul Islam of Public Administration Department as Joint Secretaries.

The other office bearers are Treasure Md. Mosharraf Hossain of Management Department, Organizational Secretary Kazi M. Anisul Islam of Mass Communication and Journalism Department, Publication Secretary Chowdhury Shahriar Mozammel of Computer Science and Engineering Department, Sports Secretary Professor Md. Awlad Hossain of Marketing Department, Literature and Cultural Secretary Md. Manjur Hossain of Finance and Banking Department and Education and Research Secretary Md. Atiqur Rahman of Mathematics Department.

The 10 executive members are Swapan Chandra Majumder of Economics Department, Mohammad Ainul Haque and N.M. Rabiul Awal Chowdhury of Anthropology Department, Md. Zia Uddin of Public Administration Department, Md. Emdadul Haque of Finance and Banking Department, Md. Russel Moni of Chemistry Department, Mahbubul Haque Bhuiyan of Mass Communication and Journalism Department, Rafeza Khatun of Pharmacy Department, Md. Mahibullah of Computer Science and Engineering Department and Sangeeta Basak of Management Studies Department.

Meanwhile, the previous committee of Bangabandhu Parishad was formed on March 23 in 2018. However, on December 6 last year, some of the teachers expressed their distrust on the then president and general secretary and formed a new convening committee centering the teacher’s association election. Later, both the fractions took part in the election with separate blue panel claiming self to be Bangabandhu Parishad.