Sports, Cricket

Australia women’s team to tour Bangladesh in March

Published : 27 Feb 2024 08:47 PM

The reigning Champions Australia women’s national cricket team will tour Bangladesh to take part in the bilateral series against host in March. 

This is the first time Australia’s women team will tour Bangladesh as part of a bilateral series—six-match series (three ODIs and Three T-20s). It is just the second time Australian women cricket team will visit the Asian country following their ICC Women’s T20 World Cup success in 2014.

Though the fixture is yet to be finalized but the Aussies announced their squad for the upcoming series. 

It is expected that the first of three limited over matches will commence at Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka on March 21. 

As part of the ICC Women's Championship, with the T20 portion of the series will follow the 50-over contests.

Led by Skipper Alyssa Healy Kangaroos will send a strong team to Bangladesh. Speedstar Tayla Vlaeminck will get the chance to restart her international career after being returned to the Australian fold for the national women's team's first visit to Bangladesh in a decade. So, the ODI and shorter version series would be challenging for Bangladesh.  

With this year's T20 World Cup scheduled in Bangladesh for September and October, the six-game tour will provide Alyssa Healy's side a superb opportunity to get used to the conditions that teams will face during the 20-over showcase.

Spin is expected to play a major role in that tournament and Australia have recalled left-armer Sophie Molineux to their 15-player group after she recently returned to the national set-up during the one-off Test against South Africa in Perth.

Left-arm spinner Jess Jonassen and experienced all-rounder Heather Graham are the unlucky players who are dropped out of the squad, but selector Shawn Flegler said, “There is still opportunities for the duo to return to the international fold.”

"We've tried to pick a balanced squad with multiple bowling options and, unfortunately for Jess and Heather, they have missed out on this occasion," said Flegler.

Meanwhile, The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has revealed the schedule for the upcoming Australia Women's tour, which will feature three ODIs and three T20Is.

The ODI series is part of the 2022-25 ICC Women's Championship. This tour marks the first bilateral series between Bangladesh and Australia, who have previously only met during ICC events. 

The ODIs are scheduled for March 17, 21, and 24, with all matches starting at 9:30 am. The T20Is will follow on March 31, April 2, and April 4, starting at 12 pm. 

Australia squad

Alyssa Healy (c), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris (T20s only), Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath (vc), Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Tayla Vlaeminck.