Sports, Cricket

Aussie women’s team arrives today

Published : 16 Mar 2024 10:05 PM | Updated : 16 Mar 2024 10:05 PM

The reigning ODI Champions Australia women’s national cricket team will arrive in Bangladesh on Sunday to take part in the bilateral series against the hosts. The first of three-match ODI series is scheduled to start on March 21. 

This is the first time Australia’s women's team will arrive Dhaka as part of a bilateral six-match series (three ODIs and three T-20s). As part of the ICC Women's Championship, the T20 portion of the series will follow the 50-over contests.

Led by Skipper Alyssa Healy, the Kangaroos will send a strong team to Bangladesh. Speedstar Tayla Vlaeminck will get the chance to restart her international career after being returned to the Australian fold for the national women's team's first visit to Bangladesh in a decade. So, the ODI and shorter version series would be challenging for Bangladesh. 

With this year's T20 World Cup scheduled in Bangladesh for September and October, the six-game tour will provide Alyssa Healy's side a superb opportunity to get used to the conditions that teams will face during the 20-over showcase.

Spin is expected to play a major role in that tournament, and Australia have recalled left-armer Sophie Molineux to their 15-player group after she recently returned to the national set-up during the one-off Test against South Africa in Perth.

Left-arm spinner Jess Jonassen and experienced all-rounder Heather Graham are the unlucky players who are dropped out of the squad, but selector Shawn Flegler said, “There are still opportunities for the duo to return to the international fold.”

"We've tried to pick a balanced squad with multiple bowling options, and unfortunately for Jess and Heather, they have missed out on this occasion," said Flegler.

Meanwhile, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has revealed the schedule for the upcoming Australia Women's Tour, which will feature three ODIs and three T20Is.

This tour marks the first bilateral series between Bangladesh and Australia, who have previously only met during ICC events. 

The ODIs are scheduled for March 21, 24 and 27 with all matches starting at 9:30 a.m. The T20Is will follow on March 31, April 2, and April 4, starting at 12 p.m. 

Australian squad

Alyssa Healy (c), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris (T20s only), Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath (vc), Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, and Tayla Vlaeminck.