Profile of the week

Anwar Shawkat Afser: A charismatic business leader

Md. Anwar Shawkat Afser has been elected as President of the Dutch-Bangla Chamber of Commerce & Industry (DBCCI) fro the term of 2020-2022.

The dynamic and prominet businessman Md. Anwar Shawkat Afser is the Managing Director of Sakhi Lines Ltd (Sakhi Group) has been re-elected as the President of Dutch-Bangla Chamber of Commerce & Industry in the 2nd term for the year 2020-22. Besides, he was the President of DBCCI in 2016-17. 

Mr. Afser is the pioneer member of DBCCI,  is serving to strengthen & bridge long lasting relations and bilateral trade promotion between the brotherly countries of Netherlands & Bangladesh.

Hailing from the aristocratic Bhawal Shah Gazi Family of Gazipur, Md. Anwar Shawkat Afser  was born and raised in Chittagong and has completed MBA and went on to start his business career.

His better half, Mrs. Farzana Afser is the Chairman of Sakhi Lines Ltd. (Sakhi Group) and is actively engaged in many business associations and social organizations. She is the daughter of Former Member of Parliament Late M. A. Bari of Khulna.

His worthy son, Shah Md. Rafkhat Afser completed B.A. in Business Management from University of Westminister, London and M.Sc. in International Business from Brunel University, London, United Kingdom. He is also the Director of Sakhi Lines Ltd. (Sakhi Group).

Mr. Afser is handling several businesses and is actively involved in various business verticals: International Shipping, Clearing & Forwarding, Stevedoring, Total Logistics Support, Representation of International Companies, Import, Export, Indenting, Telecommunications, Chemical, Gas Products, Engineering & Consultancy Services, AC Coach Services, etc.

Mr. Afser is the Managing Director of Sakhi Group, Sakhi Lines Ltd., Sakhi Petroleum Ltd., Sakhi Port Ltd., Proprietor of Sakhi Lines, Sakhi Tele Communication & Information Co., and Managing Partner of National Engineers & Consultants (NEC), Bangladesh Trade & Marketing Corporation (BTMC).

Afser is associated with many business organisations & trade bodies. He is also the President of Latin America- Bangladesh Chamber of Commerce & Industry (LA-BCCI), Former Director of Chittagong Chamber of Commerce & Industry (CCCI), Former Director of Bangladesh Shipping Agents Association (BSAA), Former EC Member of Bangladesh-India Chamber of Commerce & Industry (BICCI), Member of The Federation of Chamber of Commerce & Industry (FBCCI), Bangladesh Cargo Vessel Owner’ Association, Bangladesh Container Agents Association, Bangladesh Freight Forwarder’s Association (BFFA), Clearing & Forwarding Agents Association, Bangladesh Master Stevedore’s Association (BMSA), Association of Travel Agents of Bangladesh (ATAB), Water Transport Cell (WTC), etc.

Moreover, Mr. Afser performed responsibilities of many national and international social organizations. He was the Former District Governor of Lions Clubs International District 315-B4, Bangladesh (2005-06), Former Council Chairperson of Lions Clubs International, Multiple District 315, Bangladesh (2006-07), Vice President of Bangladesh Human Rights Commission (Chittagong), Advisor of Chatga Digest, Members of Chittagong Club Ltd., Chittagong Institution Ltd. (Senior Club), Jessore Golf & Country Club, Chittagong Boat Club Ltd., Shaheen Golf & Country Club Chittagong, Khulshi Club Ltd., etc. Life Member of Bangla Academy-Chittagong Foundation Trust, Maa O Shishu Hospital Chittagong, Chittagong Lions Foundation (CLF), Bangladesh Lions Foundation (BLF), Bangladesh Eye Hospital, Pahartali, Chittagong, Bangladesh Family Planning, Riffles Club Ltd. Chittagong, Chittagong Diabetes Hospital, Children Leukemia Assistance & Support Services (Class), Agrabad Residential Area Socio-Cultural Association (ARASCA), Niketon Well Fare Society Dhaka, etc. Enlisted Poet & Writer of Bangladesh Television and Chittagong Radio.

In his long business career, Mr. Afser won many prestigious awards. Some of these are Zila Kallyan Shongstha Gold Medal for Social Welfare Activities (2005-06), Lions Club International President Award, Mother Teresa Award (2014), Mahatma Gandhi Peace Award (2014), Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam Award (2015), etc.