National, Back Page

AL takes 7-day progs to mark Bangabandhu’s birthday

Published : 09 Mar 2022 09:56 PM | Updated : 10 Mar 2022 03:34 PM

The Awami League will launch a seven-day programme on March 17 in Tungipara in celebration of the birthday of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

The programme was announced at the Awami League president's office in Dhanmondi on Wednesday afternoon by AL presidium member Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim after a meeting held on Wednesday.

Sheikh Selim said the current generation is lucky to see the celebration of Bangabandhu’s birth centenary. It will not come again, he said.

The seven-day programme in Tungipara includes a wreath-laying by Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at Bangabandhu’s portrait at Tungipara on the morning of March 17, where President Abdul Hamid is expected to be present.

Sheikh Hasina will be present in the discussion meeting at 3 pm.

Discussion meetings will be held on March 18 at the initiative of Awami League, March 19 by Chhatra League, March 20 by Labor League, March 21 by Krishka League, March 22 by Juba League, March 23 by Juba Mahila Awami League, March 24 by Mahila Awami League and March 25 by Swechchhasebak League.

Besides, a week-long free medical camp will be held from March 19 to 25 at the initiative of Swadhinata Chikitsak Parishad (Swachip).

Besides, national and party flags will be hoisted at the central office of Awami League, district and upazila office at Dhaka and all over the country on March 17 in the morning.

Presidium member Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Awami League joint general secretary AFM Bahauddin Nasim, organizing secretary BM Mozammel Haque, Mirza Azam, cultural secretary Asim Kumar Ukil, office secretary Barrister Biplob Barua, members-Anwar Hossain Faraji, Sahabuddin Faraji among others were present.

Father Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's Birth Centenary Celebration National Implementation Committee Member Secretary Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury, Juba League Chairman Sheikh Fazle Shams Parash and general secretary Mainul Hossain Khan Nikhil, Swechchhasebak League President Nirmal Guha and general secretary Afzalur Rahman Babu, Women's League President Safia Khatun and general secretary Mahmuda Begum Krik,  Jubi Mohila League President Nazma Akter and  general secretary Apu Ukil were also present.