AL names candidates for Chandpur UP polls

Published : 16 Oct 2021 09:06 PM | Updated : 17 Oct 2021 10:54 AM

Awami League has declared the candidates in 10 Union Parishads of Chandpur Sadar Upazila. The list of candidates was finalized after a meeting of the Local Government Nomination Board at Ganabhaban, the official residence of party president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, on Tuesday. 

This information was confirmed from several reliable sources of Awami League

Since then, the families and followers of the party nominees have been celebrating. 

However, frustration was seen among 52 other candidates who were deprived of nomination and their followers.

According to the information received, the Awami League has been nominated the current chairman of the Bishnupur Union Nasir Uddin Khan, the current chairman of the Ashikati Union Billal Hossain Patwari, new candidate Masudur Rahman Nantu in Shahmahmudpur, current chairman of Rampur Union Al Mamun Patwari, new candidate in Maishadi Nurul Islam Patwari, the current chairman of Tarpurchandi Imam Hasan, the current chairman of Bagadi Belayet Hossain, the new candidate in Balia. 

Rafiqullah Patwari, the current chairman of Chandra Khan Jahan Ali   and Hanarchar new candidate Maqboo Hossai Miaji.

Earlier, the names of the candidates were proposed and supported through extended meetings of the Awami League in each union It may be mentioned that out of 14 Union Parishads of Chandpur Sadar Upazila, UP elections will be held on November 11. According to the announced schedule, the last date for submission of nomination papers for the second phase of Union Parishad elections is October 18, selection of nomination papers is October 20, appeal against the decision of selection is October 21 to 23, decision of appeal is October 24 and 25, withdrawal of candidature is October 27, allotment of symbols is October 26 and voting will be held on Nov 11.