AL-backed panel sweeps JUTA polls

Published : 25 Jan 2023 09:49 PM

The Awami League-backed panel ‘Bangabandhu Shikkhak Parishad’ swept the election to the executive body of Jahangirnagar University Teachers' Association on Wednesday, bagging 11 executive posts out of 15.

However, pro-BNP panel 'Nationalist Teachers Forum' bagged three vital posts including vice president, joint secretary and treasurer of the executive body, defeating pro-AL panel candidates.

The election was held at Jahangirnagar University Club at 9:00am and continued till 1.30pm without a break. A total of 575 out of 602 teachers exercised their votes.

Professor Farid Ahmed and Professor M Shamim Kaiser from the AL-backed panel won the president and secretary post  respectively defeating Professor Sohel Rana and Professor Aminur Rahman Khan of t Professor Monowar Hossain and Professor Shafiqul Islam from the Pro-BNP panel won the posts of vice-president and treasurer respectively.

Associate professor Borhan Uddin from the Pro-BNP panel defeated Pro-AL candidate associate Professor Pinki Saha for the joint secretary post.

The elected executive members from the AL-backed panel are Professor Subarna Karmaker, Professor Nazmul Hassan Talukder, Professor Ahmed Reza, Professor Fariha Matin Juliana, Professor Shafiq-Ur Rahman, Professor Mizanur Rahman, Professor Sabbir Alam, associate Professor Mahfuza Khatun and associate Professor Tarikul Islam.

Only associate Professor Rezaul Rakib from the Pro-BNP panel elected for the post of executive member.

Professor Aniruddha Kahali of the Bangla department conducted the election as the chief election commissioner.

The last election to the association took place on December 29, 2021.