AIUB partners with BTF for Fed Cup

Bangladesh National Women’s Tennis Team participated in the Fed Cup 2019 started from 17-23 June in Malaysia. In this regard, a press conference was held in the Auditorium of American International University-Bangladesh (AIUB) campus in Kuril, Dhaka.

The teams  are playing in two groups in round robin league format and ultimately the champion will be promoted to Group-I.

AIUB is a sponsor of Bangladesh National Women’s Team for this Fed Cup. The Vice President of Bangladesh Tennis Federation, Neaz Ahmed and the Vice Chancellor (VC) of AIUB, Dr Carmen Z Lamagna were present in the press conference along with the Manager of Bangladesh Women’s Tennis Team, Disha Islam and the team members of Bangladesh Women’s Team. The Deputy Director, Sports and Cultural Affairs of AIUB, A K Nazmul was also present.

A six-member team from Bangladesh including four players is representing the country to make a history as it will be the first time that Bangladesh will compete in the Fed Cup. Members of the Bangladesh Women’s Tennis Team are Ishita Afroz, Zerin Sultana Joly, Mashfia Afrin and Sushmita Sen.

The press conference started with the welcome speech from Dr Carmen Z Lamagna which was followed by a briefing given by Neaz Ahmed. Then the question-answer session was held with the media representatives. A large number of media representatives from print and electronic media were present along with AIUB officials, faculty members and students.

Disha Islam from Bangladesh Tennis Federation (BTF) moderated the press conference.

In her speech, Dr Carmen expressed that by building on this model and providing the students with the tools to succeed beyond the classroom, we believe we are building the next generation of winners - on and off the field. It is an important lesson for other universities to consider in providing the best environment and facilities to enable our scholars to succeed beyond the lecture halls.

The participating teams in Fed Cup are Malaysia, Hong Kong, Uzbekistan, New Zealand, Pakistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Bangladesh.