Sports, Cricket

Afghanistan announce final squad for T20 WC

Published : 11 Oct 2021 09:23 PM | Updated : 12 Oct 2021 02:44 PM

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, scheduled to be held from October 17 in UAE and Oman on Sunday.

Veteran Mohammad Nabi named captain of the final 15-member squad by the ACB. Rashid Khan was initially set to lead Afghanistan, but the star leg-spinner resigned minutes after the probable squad for the tournament was announced.

Sharafuddin Ashraf and Dawlat Zadran have been named travel reserves alongside Samiullah Shinwari and Fazal Haq Farooqi. Afghanistan is slotted in Group 2 of the Super 12s, along with India, Pakistan, and New Zealand. Afghanistan will kick-start their T20 World Cup campaign against a qualifier from Group B on October 25 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.


Mohammad Nabi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Shahzad, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Hamid Hassan, Farid Ahmed Malik, Naveen ul Haq.

Reserve players: Sharafuddin Ashraf, Samiullah Shinwari, Dawlat Zadran, Fazal Haq Farooqi.