Admission battle begins for govt school seat

The online application process of admission in the 42 government high schools in capital Dhaka begins tomorrow (Sunday). Applicants will be able to apply online from tomorrow, December 1 midnight to December 14 midnight. Getting enrolled at a prestigious school like Government Laboratory High School is the most important and difficult challenge for any student.

Meanwhile, kids along with their parents and guardians in the city are making preparations for the admission process of government schools for the academic year 2020. As the process of admission tests in government high schools in the city is going to take place tomorrow, guardians are anxiously waiting whether they can 'ensure their children’s enrolment in a better educational institution’. Of the total 42 government high schools, there are affiliated feeder branches in three public secondary schools. Like previous year, admission in class one of 14 schools will be conducted through lottery system.

Besides, admission from class two to eight will be conducted through written test. And based on JSC and JDC GPAs, students will be admitted in class nine. Based on the geographic location of respective area, schools have been divided into three groups -- A, B and C. The schools under Group A are Government Laboratory High School, Mirpur Government High School, Motijheel Government Girls' High School, Khilgaon Government High School, Nawabpur Government High School, New Government Girls' High School, Islamia Government High School and Mohammadpur Government High School.

The Group B schools are Motijheel Government Boys' High School, Narinda Government High School, Government Muslim High School, Banglabazar Government Girls' High School, Sher-e-Bangla Nagar Government Boys School, Tejgaon Government Bigyan College High School, Dhanmondi Government Girls' High School and Dhanmondi Quamrunnessa Government Girls' High School.

The Group C schools are Armanitola Government High School, Sher-e-Bangla Nagar Government Girls' High School, Dhaka Collegiate School, Ganabhaban Government High School, Tikatuli Quamrunnisa Government Girls' School, Tejgaon Government Girls' High School, Tejgaon Government High School and Dhanmondi Government Boys' High School.

For the first time, due to transfer of workplace both for government and private officials, parents will have six months additional time to admit their children. But none will be allowed to admit extra students in any school. For any addition, respective schools required to take permission from concerned ministry. The admission policy of the government has directed to complete the online admission process in all the government secondary schools in all metropolitan, divisional city and district headquarters.