Sports, Cricket

Abahani seals hattrick DPL title

Published : 26 Jun 2021 09:07 PM

Mohammad Saifuddin's all-round performance propelled Abahani Limited to win the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division T20 League title by sealing an 8-run victory against Prime Bank in the final game of the Super League stage of the tournament at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Saturday.

It was Abahani's record 21st DPL title, which is 13 more than their arch rivals Mohammedan Sporting Club, who finished bottom of the Super League table. 

Saifuddin grabbed four wickets to hold Prime Bank at 142/9 before playing a cameo innings 13-ball 21 to help his team end with a fighting total of 150/7.

In response to the target of 151 runs Prime Bank scored 142 runs losing nine wickets in 20 overs. Prime Bank batsmen were struggling since the beginning of the innings. Rubel Mia (41) and AnamulHaque (13) manage to cross double digits from the first five batsmen.

AlokKapali played a stormy inning of 34 runs off 17 balls, hitting two fours and three sixes. Mohammad Saifuddin took four wickets for the side from four overs.

Earlier, Abahani scored 150 runs losing seven wickets in 20 overs after winning the toss. Abahani were in trouble after losing three early wickets of Mohammad Naim (0), MunimShahriar (3) and Liton Das (19), putting 31 runs on the board.

Then Najmul Hossain Shanto and Mosaddek Hossain put on a partnership of 70 runs for the fourth wicket. Shanto scored 45 runs off 40 balls aided by three fours and two sixes. Mosaddek faced 39 balls to score 40 runs.

In the end, Afif made 12 and Mohammad Saifuddin played a knock of 21 runs off 13 balls, struck two sixes. For Prime Bank, Rubel Hossain took a couple of wickets while Mustafizur Rahman and Shoriful Islam picked up one wicket each.