Sports, Cricket

Abahani clinch 23rd DPL title

Published : 30 Apr 2024 09:30 PM

Abahani Limited cemented their position as the undisputed kings of the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, securing their 23rd title in emphatic fashion. In a dominant display at the BKSP Ground – 4 on Tuesday, they brushed aside Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by four convincing wickets, extending their winning streak to a staggering 14 matches.

Set a seemingly manageable target of 268 runs after Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club batted first, Abahani's openers, Anamul Haque Bijoy and Afif Hossain, set the tone for a clinical chase. 

Bijoy, known for his solidity at the crease, anchored the innings with a well-paced 67 off 80 deliveries. 

He found the boundary four times and launched two sixes, providing a stable platform for the onslaught to come. Hossain, ever the aggressor, took the attack to the bowlers, carving out a blistering 83 runs off just 53 balls. 

His knock was a masterclass in clean hitting, peppered with eight boundaries and a couple of maximums, leaving the Sheikh Jamal bowlers with little answer.

Captain Mosaddek Hossain (53* off 54) displayed his leadership qualities by guiding Abahani home with an unbeaten fifty. 

His knock, laced with four sixes, ensured there were no late jitters as Abahani chased down the target with a single ball to spare, sending their passionate supporters into a frenzy.

Earlier, the scorching Dhaka heat seemed to dampen Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club's batting efforts. Despite a valiant 85 off 58 balls from Ziaur Rahman, who emerged as the lone bright spark, they could only manage a total of 267 runs for nine wickets. Shakib Al Hasan (49) and Nurul Hasan Sohan (42) provided some support in the middle order, but the early loss of three wickets for just 15 runs put them on the back foot. 

Openers Shykat Ali (41) and Shakib Al Hasan attempted to rebuild the innings, but wickets continued to fall at regular intervals, hindering their momentum.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club's bowlers did manage to pick up a couple of early wickets, but Abahani's batting depth proved too much to handle.

Bijoy, Hossain, and Mosaddek's composed knocks ensured Abahani cruised to victory, further solidifying their status as the most successful team in DPL history.