53rd IFFI concludes today

Published : 27 Nov 2022 08:03 PM

P Bhattacharya

It was yet another morning at the Maquinez Palace auditorium in Panaji, Goa, on November 26 when the 53rd edition of the International Film Festival of India was just two days away from end.

Kishore Kumar’s enchanting voice and actor Rajesh Khanna’s cult figure reappeared on the screen of the auditorium accompanying an evergreen song from hit Bollywood film “Kati Patang,” it was pure nostalgia for the audience as it sat opposite yesteryear actress Asha Parekh who played the lead actress as well as acted in the song.

Kati Patang is also best remembered for bringing together music composer Rahul Deb Burman and superstar Rajesh Khanna and containing a collection of hugely popular melodious songs like ‘Yeh Shaam Mastani’, ’Pyar Diwana Hota Hai’ and ‘Yeh Jo Mohabbat Hai.’

The retro section of this year’s IFFI was dedicated to Asha Parekh, the winner of Dada Saheb Phalke Award in the year 2020.

Participating in an interaction with Festival delegates, Asha Parekh said “for film lovers, IFFI is the best place to be as it has got people from all over the country coming together.

Have featured in many super hit movies films, Asha Parekh came to be known as the ‘Hit Girl’ of Hindi cinema in 1960s and 70s.

Beginning her journey as a child actor, her debut was with Dil Deke Dekho (1959) as the lead which became a big hit, which catapulted her into stardom. She went on to act in over 95 films, with some of the top filmmakers and leading actors of that time like Shakti Samanta, Raj Khosla, Nasir Hussain, Rajesh Khanna, Dharmendra, Shammi Kapoor, Manoj Kumar and Dev Anand.

Aasha Parekh won the Filmfare Award for Best Actress for Kati Patang (1971) and was the recipient of the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award (2002).

Also a director, producer and an accomplished Indian classical dancer, Aasha Parek was conferred with the Indian government’s prestigious award Padma Shri (1992). She also served as the Head of the Indian Censor Board during 1998-2001.