National, Front Page

300 nominations rejected, 50 withheld

Rejection list includes some bigwigs

Published : 04 Dec 2023 04:44 PM | Updated : 04 Dec 2023 04:44 PM

Returning officials in last three days rejected nomination papers of around 300 candidates of different political parties and independents for the 12th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) election slated for January 7, 2024.

Besides, around 50 other candidatures have been kept witheled.

According to sources in the Election Commission (EC), nomination papers of some heavyweight of different parties have been rejected.

Starting from December 1, the scrutiny of nomination papers continued till Sunday and it will end today (Monday). 

The candidates whose nomination papers have been rejected can appeal before the Election Commission (EC).

The EC officials said returning officials have rejected those nomination papers for reasons like loan 

default, submission of false report and different other charges.

Appeals against the rejection of nominations can be submitted on December 5-6 and nominations need to be withdrawn by December 17.

Sources said those bigwigs and prominent figures whose nomination papers have been rejected include Major (Retd) Abdul Mannan (Noakhali-4), Scretary General of Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, its Joint Secretary General Mahi B Chowdhury (Munshiganj-1), son of former President of Bangladesh AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury, former Vice-Chancellor of Jahangirnagar University Dr Professor Anwar Hossain (Netrokona-5), film actress Mahia Mahi (Rajshahi-1), much-talked about former BNP lawmaker Maj (Retd) Akhtaruzzaman (Kishorganj-2), much talked about character Ashraful Alam alias Hero Alam (Bogura-4), Jhalokathi-1 lawmaker and Awami League leader Bazlul Huq Harun, Cox’s Bazar AL leader Salahuddin Ahmed (Cox’s Bazar-1), Noakhali-3 lawmaker and AL leader Md Mamunur Rashid Kiran, prominent singer Dolly Sayantani (Pabna-2) 

According to information received from different districts across the country, the returning officials rejected nomination papers of 14 candidates out of total 47 candidates for six constituencies in Sylhet while the candidatures of two other candidates have been witheled.

In Rajshahi, the EC officials have rejected 17 nomination papers out of 60 candidates for six seats while seven others have been kept withheld. 

In Khulna, Returning Officer (RO) Khondokar Yasir Arefin on Sunday cancelled nomination papers of 16 candidates including Jatiya Party nominated candidate from Khulna-6 constituency Shafiqul Islam Modhu.

The RO Arefin who is also the deputy commissioner of Khulna cancelled their nomination papers during the scrutiny for various reasons including lack of necessary papers and wrong information, fake signatures of voters provided in the documents attached with the nomination papers, failure to pay electricity bills, bank loan and submsion of tax return copy and certificates etc.

The Khulna RO scrutinized 33 parliament members’ aspirants of Khulna-4, 5 and 6 constituencies out of all six. Of them, the RO declared 14 candidates as valid, 3 for waiting and cancelled 16.

In Barishal, the returning officials rejected nomination papers of six candidates out of 55 candidates for six seats have been rejected while candidature of seven others have been witheled.

In Mymensingh, at least 11 nomination papers for sis seats have been cancelled. The district consists a total of 11 seats. Candidature of the rest five seats will be scrutinised today.

Amog other areas, two nomination papers were cancelled in Faridpur-1, six nomination papers in Noakhali, three in Munsiganj-1, seven nomination papers were cancelled in Jhalokathi, five in Bogura, three in Cox’s Bazar, five in Barguna, six in Cumilla-1, two in Meherpur, four in Panchagarh, four nomination papers were cancelled in Patuakhali while 15 others were kept withheld.

Two nomination papers were canceled in Chapainababganj, two others in Shariyatpur, eight nomination papers were rejected in Jamalpur, 10 nomination papers for six seats were rejected in Brahmmanbaria.

At least 13 nomination papers for five seats in Netrokona disyrict have been cancelled by the EC official.

A total of 3,065 candidates from 30 political parties and individual platforms have submitted their candidatures for 300 seats. Of them, 774 are the independent candidents.