Sports, Cricket

3 uncapped pacers in SL squad for Zimbabwe ODIs

Published : 13 Jan 2022 08:54 PM

Uncapped pacers Nuwan Thushara, Chamika Gunasekara and Shiran Fernando have been named in Sri Lanka's side for the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe. Dhananjaya De Silva will miss the series because of paternity leave while the hosts will also miss the services of Avishka Fernando, Janith Liyanage and Kamil Mishara after the three players tested positive for COVID-19.

Sri Lanka Cricket also confirmed that Lahiru Kumara and Kalana Perera were not picked for failing to meet the fitness standards. Wanindu Hasaranga will not be part of the series that will start on January 16 in Pallekele. The next two matches will be played at the same venue on January 18 and 21 respectively.

Thushara bagged 5 for 13 in the Lanka Premier League for Galle Gladiators against Jaffna Kings before the final and was their second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament. He has featured in 15 List A matches and has bagged 11 wickets so far. Gunasekara most recent performance against Pakistan A saw his bag 6 for 83 in a first-class contest while Shiran has 26 wickets from as many List A matches to show for.

Standby players: Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi, Ashian Daniel, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando have been named as standby players.