National, Back Page

2nd phase of UP polls on Nov 11

Published : 29 Sep 2021 10:04 PM | Updated : 30 Sep 2021 02:22 PM

The second phase of local government Union Parishad (UP) elections will be held on November 11.

The Election Commission (EC) has said that voting will be held in 848 UPs of the country on this day.

EC Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandaker said this after a meeting of the Election Commission at the Election Building in Agargaon on Wednesday.

According to the schedule of the second phase, the last date for submission of nomination papers for the UP elections is October 17. Nomination papers will be verified and selected on October 20.

Candidates will have the opportunity to appeal against the decision of the commission from October 21 to 23. The appeal will be closed between October 24 and 25.

Candidates will have the opportunity to withdraw their candidature till October 26. The symbol will be allotted on October 27. The official election campaign will start from that day.

Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandaker said electronic voting machines (EVMs) would be used in 20 of the 848 UPs in the second phase.

Earlier in the morning, a meeting of the EC was held under the chairmanship of Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda. The secretary also said that all the UPs in the country want to complete the polls by December.

 “We are working on the third phase of union council elections. The next meeting of the commission will be held next week. The meeting may decide on the schedule for the third phase of UP elections, he added.

Besides, Sirajganj-6 by-election and 10 municipal elections will be held on November 2.

Announcing the schedule, the EC secretary said that in these elections, candidates will be able to submit nomination papers till October 9.

The selection will be on October 11. The opportunity for appeal is from 12 to 14 October. Nomination can be withdrawn by 16th October after disposal of the appeal on 17th October.

He said the vote would be taken on November 2 after the allotment of symbols on October 18. Voting will be held in EVM.

Related Topics