National, Front Page

BNP can’t stop grassroots leaders from city polls

19 more expelled in Barishal, show-cause notices to 41 in Sylhet

Published : 04 Jun 2023 10:31 PM

BNP expelled its 19 leaders forever for their participation in the Barishal City Corporation (BSS) election defying party decision.

For the same reason, the BNP has asked its 41 other leaders in Sylhet to show cause about why punitive measure would not be taken against them for their participation in the Sylhet City Corporation (SCC) election defying party decision.

Earlier, the BNP had expelled its 29 leaders, who had taken part in the Gaziur City Corporation (GCC) election.

It seems that the BNP has entirely lost control over its leaders in activists in city, district and other grass root levels.

Rather, the victory to 11 out of 28 BNP leaders, who have been expelled for their candidatures in the GCC polls, have inspired the BNP leaders in the city polls.

Like in GCC, BCC and SCC, according to sources, over 50 more leaders of the BNP are also taking part in the upcoming elections to two other city corporations in Rajshahi and Khulna also.

In Barishal, the BNP has expelled 19 leaders from the Barishal city unit for taking part in the upcoming BCC election scheduled for 12 June.

The Barishal city unit received a letter from the BNP on 3 June, formally informing them of the expulsion. The letter stated that those leaders betrayed the party and its ongoing movement against the autocratic government, drawing a comparison to the historic figure ‘Mirjafor’.

However, the expelled leaders expressed indifference towards the letter. One of them, Kamrul Ahasan Rupon, who is running as an independent candidate for the mayoral position in the BCC election, stated that he had already left the party and he holds no official position within it. Rupon is a former leader of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal. 

Moniruzzaman Khan Faruk, the convener of the Barishal city unit of BNP, explained that strict action was taken against the party members who had defied the party's decision by participating in the election.

Our Sylhet Correspondent reports: the BNP served show-cause letters to 41 of its leaders for taking part in the SCC polls defying party decision. One of them is taking part in the election as a mayoral candidate and 40 others are taking part as the ward-councillors.

The show cause notice, signed by BNP Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi has been sent to all those individuals on Saturday (3 June) evening.

Sylhet City Corporation election is scheduled to be held on 21 June.

In the notice received from the center, it is mentioned that why organisational action will not be taken against them for ignoring the decision of the party for personal interest. They would have to reply in writing to the central office of BNP within the next 24 hours. 

Those who have been served with the show-cause notices are Ward-27 BNP member Salahuddin Rimon, general councilor candidate Syed Toufiqul Hadi, former organising secretary of Sylhet Metropolitan BNP, Farhad Chowdhury Shamim, former joint convener of Sylhet Metropolitan BNP, Ward-14 BNP member Nazrul Islam Munim, Ward-18 BNP Member ABM Zillur Rahman Ujjal, Sylhet Mahanagar Mahila Dal President Rukshana Begum Shahnaz, Sylhet District Chhatra Dal President Altaf Hossain Sumon, Sylhet Mahanagar Swechchhasebok Dal Joint Convenor Usman Harun Panir, Sylhet District BNP Advisor Golam Mostafa Kamal, Gauch Uddin Pakhi, Sylhet District Chhatra Dal Joint General Secretary Delwar Hossain Nadeem, Ward BNP Member Mufti Kamar Uddin Kamu, Ward-3 BNP President Mizanur Rahman Mithu, Ward-5 BNP former convenor Md. Kamal Miah, Ward-5 BNP Member Khaled Akbar Chowdhury, Aminur Rahman Khokon, Shahid Siraj, Ward-10 BNP Joint General Secretary Md Saidur Rahman Zuber, Ward-11 BNP Member Abdur Rahim Matshir, Ward-15 BNP member Mujibur Rahman, Sylhet District Swechchhasebok  Dal former joint convener Salman Chowdhury Shammi, Ward-23 BNP vice president Mamunur Rahman Mamun, MC College Chhatra Dal former president Badrul Azad Rana, Ward-24 BNP member Humayun Kabir Suhin, Ward-26 BNP Vice President Salim Ahmad Roni, Sylhet District Chhatra Dal Former Assistant General Secretary Ali Abbas, Barikandi Union BNP Joint General Secretary Javed Amin Salim, South Surma Upazila BNP Assiatant Organising Secretary Raju Mia, Barikandi Union Ward-7 BNP President Sanor Mia, Organising Secretary of Tooltikor Union BNP Abdul Mukit, former Law Affairs secretary of Sylhet Mahanagar Chhatra Dal Hedayet Hossain Tanbir, member of Sylhet Mahanagar Swechchhasebok Dal Dulal Ahmad, Sylhet district BNP leader Delwar Hossain Joy, Sylhet Mahanagar Chhatra Dal vice president Abdul Hachib, Dakshin Surma Upazila BNP leader Sumon Ahmad Sikdar, South Surma Upazila BNP Leader Saheed Khan Swapan, Barikandi Union BNP Former Leader Nurul Islam Masum,  Sylhet District Mahila Dal President Saleha Kabir Shepi, Sylhet Mahanagar Mahila Dal Vice President Ruhena Begum Mukta, Bangladesh Nationalist Lawyers Forum, Sylhet Unit Member Advocate Jahura Jasmine and Ward-BNP Vice President Kamrun Nahar Tanni.