National, Front Page

17th session of JS begins today

Published : 27 Mar 2022 10:33 PM | Updated : 28 Mar 2022 01:23 PM

The 17th session of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) will begin today at 5pm.

On March 10, President M Abdul Hamid convened the session exercising the power bestowed upon him as per the Clause (1) of Article 72 of the Constitution.

 "The session will begin at 5pm tomorrow at the Parliament Bhaban in the city's Sher-e-Bangla Nagar area," said a JS media release Sunday.

The 16th session of the 11th parliament was prorogued on January 27 after five sittings as the first session of the year began on January 16. A total of 54 treasury and opposition bench lawmakers delivered their addresses during the session.

CEC and EC appointment bill-2022 was passed in the 16th session.

Along with the legal procedure, a total of 32 important notices under section 71 of the rules of procedure were received. A total of 52 questions were

available for the Prime Minister's question and answer sessions where 20 questions were answered by the Prime Minister during the session.

During the question-answer session, 290 questions were answered by the ministers under different ministries with some 1,476 questions were received for the session.