National, Front Page

No transfer of UZ engineers till next JS polls

Published : 31 Mar 2023 11:10 PM | Updated : 31 Mar 2023 11:14 PM

In view of continuing the ongoing development works in the country and keep them uninterrupted, no engineers in the upazila level should not be transferred until the next Parliamentary Election is held.

The Parliamentary Committee on the Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives made the recommendations at one of its meetings held on Thursday at the National Parliament building.

Sources said that the parliamentary committee at its meeting recommended to complete the ongoing development works quickly keeping the same engineers supervising the works. 

The committee also recommended for increasing of the number of engineers in the upazila level so that the ongoing projects and development works are completed on time. 

In view of the next national parliament election, for this reason, if necessary it was decided to increase the number of engineers at the upazila level and suspend the transfer process at the upazila level.

According to the minutes of the meeting, the president of the committee, Nurul Islam Nahid, raised the issue at first. Later, he advised to increase the number of engineers at the upazila level and not to transfer any of them without any serious complaint against them.

He made the recommendation in order to finish the ongoing development work quickly as National Parliament election is nearing close. 

Later, the local government minister Tajul Islam also expressed solidarity with this statement.

In the meeting, it was recommended to speedily repair the roads under construction along with taking necessary steps to create positive thinking in the public mind to use all the infrastructures including rural roads, school buildings as public assets. 

The committee also recommended for proper monitoring and supervision of the works of salaried women workers engaged in road repairing works at the union level.

Committee members Swapan Bhattacharya, Md. Mosiur Rahman Ranga, Sheikh Afil Uddin, Md. Shah-e-Alam, Md. Sanwar Hossain and Abdus Salam Murshedi, among others, were also present at the meeting.